36th Chamber // NYC Graffiti Photography

We’ve had our eye on 36th Chamber for a while now. We discovered his talents on Flickr, and after being completely won over by his obvious dedication, we decided to track him down and find out how/why he does what he does so well.

Interview by Mr.Glass

Where are you from, and how long have you been taking pics of graffiti?
I’m from New Jersey, New Jeru! I’ve only been taking pictures for about three years now, 2009 was when I got a small point and shoot. 


What got you into photography and what’s in the arsenal?
I started to document some of my work, anything I did I wanted a picture of it. My arsenal’s not too special; after my shitty paint covered point and shoot, I got a Canon Rebel XS. I found a Canon Ftb in my garage a few months back and I’ve been using that mostly. I’ve been interested in 35mm film lately. I also have a Canon Rebel2000 I shoot with sometimes. And a small variety of lenses.

Do you write? if so, for how long?
Haha, next

If not, why?

Fuck bitches get money smoke mad weed

Describe your process of going out and taking pictures, is there specific writers you seek out?
Normally I get pretty high, then I wander the streets and flick random things. I don’t really seek out writers, things just pop out here and there and I just want a picture of it. I’ve been flicking less graffiti now that I’m shooting film, I haven’t felt like bringing the digital out in awhile.

Who do you like seeing up, is there anyone you won’t take flicks of?
Anyone doing their thing I guess, the homies! I wont flick shit I don’t like I guess.

You can see more of 36th Chamber on his Flickr page

One response to “36th Chamber // NYC Graffiti Photography

Leave a Reply

